(845) 563-3400     124 Grand Street, Newburgh, NY 12550
 

Athletics



Stay up to date on Section IX athletics and updates by visiting their website: https://www.section9sports.org/

Winter Sport Information

Winter Athletics Information for Fans | 2022-2023

Winter sports will begin for Varsity, JV, and Freshman levels on Monday November 14, 2022.  Modified sports will begin on Monday, November 21, 2022.  


You MUST register on FAMILY ID and be APPROVED in Family ID before trying out for your sport. Please make sure your Physical is up to date as well. Without an up to date Physical, you cannot participate in sports. 

  • FAMILY ID registration will be open for Varsity, JV & Freshman levels from October 14, 2022 through November 16, 2022
  • FAMILY ID registration will be open for Modified sports on October 21, 2022 through November 23, 2022 

Please register for the sport you wish to participate in under your home school. Your home school is the school you attend.  

* Winter sports locations and times will be announced at a later date on the Newburgh Athletic website.

The APP test (Athletic Placement Process) will take place @ NFA Main Track.  

  • The APP test only applies to 7th or 8th graders who wish to play at Varsity, JV or Freshman levels. Please make sure you have the proper APP paperwork filled out and submitted to your school’s health office. You must also have an up to date physical. Please hand in your APP paperwork to your health office ASAP for the District Doctor needs extra time to approve your student athlete to take the APP test. If your student athlete has previously taken the APP test, please check with the athletic office to ensure you do not have to take it again. 
  • Athletic office 845-563-5420/5446.

APP test dates & times:

  • November 7 at 3:00 PM & 4:00 PM 
  • November 9 at 3:15 PM & 4:00 PM 
  • November 10 at 3:15 PM & 4:00 PM 

Please make sure you are approved in Family ID and cleared for the specific sport you wish to try out for or you will NOT be permitted to take the APP test.

  • For further information about the APP paperwork requirements; please contact your school’s health office. (During the summer for Fall Sports registration only, please contact NFA Main Campus health office at 845-563-5471.) 
  • The APP paperwork is located on the Newburgh District website under Athletics. 

If you have any questions please contact the Athletic office 845-563-5420/5446.


As a reminder, all athletes must adhere to BOE eligibility policy 5411 - Eligibility Policy (5411)

Winter Sports being offered 2022-2023 school year and their practice schedule

 

Sport

Location

Time

Tryouts start on Monday Nov. 14, 2022

Varsity Boys Basketball

Main - Boys & Girls

3:30 pm-5:30 pm

JV/Freshman Boys Basketball

Main - Boys & Girls

5:30 pm-7:00 pm

Varsity/JV Girls Basketball

Main - Boys & Girls

3:00 pm-5:15 pm (Tryouts in gold gym)

Varsity Competitive Cheerleading

South MS gym

3:00 pm -5:00 pm

Varsity/JV Game Day Cheer

South MS gym

3:00 pm -5:00 pm

Varsity Boys Indoor Track

NFA Track/Weight room

2:30 pm-4:15 pm 

Varsity Girls Indoor Track

NFA Track/Weight room

3:00 pm-5:00 pm

Varsity Boys Swimming & Diving

NFA Pool

3:00 pm-5:00 pm

V/JV Wrestling

North campus gym

4:00 pm-6:00 pm

Varsity Boys & Girls Bowling

Pat Tarsio Lanes

2:30 pm-4:30 pm

Unified Bowling

Pat Tarsio Lanes

2:30-4:00 Pm Tues.& Thurs

Modified Sport

Location

Time

Tryouts start on Monday Nov. 21, 2022

Modified Wrestling

Temple Hill Academy gym

3:30 pm-5:00 pm

Modified Boys Basketball 

Temple Hill Academy gym

3:30 pm-5:00 pm

Modified Girls Basketball

Heritage MS gym

4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

WINTER SPORTS 2022-2023 LEVEL COACHES E-MAIL
Basketball Boys V - Head Jason McAllister Jr. jason.mcallisterjr@necsd.net
Basketball Boys V - Asst. Mike Robinson mrobinson@necsd.net
Basketball Boys JV - Head Tyree Smallwood tsmallwood2120@gmail.com
Basketball Boys FR - Head Andrew Velez anvelez@necsd.net
Basketball Girls V - Head Arturo Santana asantana@necsd.net 
Basketball Girls V - Asst. Rachel Gamma rgamma@necsd.net
Basketball Girls JV - Head Jamel Barnes jbarnes@necsd.net 
Competitive Cheerleading V - Head Lauren Skinner-Dennis lskinner@necsd.net 
Competitive Cheerleading V - Asst Kristen Romanino kromanino@necsd.net 
Game Day Cheerleading V/JV Kristen Rummel krummel@necsd.net 
Indoor Track Boys V - Head Malcolm Burks rightonpace@hotmail.com
Indoor Track Boys V - Asst TBD TBD
Indoor Track Girls V - Head Kathi Workman kworkman@necsd.net
Indoor Track Girls V - Asst Briana Walsh bwalsh@necsd.net 
Swimming & Diving Boys V - Head Zachary Williams zwilliams@necsd.net
Swimming & Diving Boys V - Asst Dave Doulin ddoulin@necsd.net
Wrestling V - Head Chris Leggett cleggett@necsd.net
Wrestling JV - Head William Parks wparks@necsd.net 
Bowling V - Head Matt Iorlano miorlano@necsd.net 
Bowling V - Head James Horton jhorton@necsd.net 
Unified Bowling V - Head Sandy Baines & Christy Puleo sbaines@necsd.net & cpuleo@necsd.net
WINTER MODIFIED SPORTS 2022-2023 LEVEL COACHES & ID E-MAIL
Basketball Boys Mod. Blue - Head Rich Anderson randerson@necsd.net 
Basketball Girls Mod. Blue - Head Sarah Williams swilliams@nescd.net 
Wrestling Mod. - Head Dylan Burns dburns@necsd.net

 

Fall Sport Information

Check back later this school year for information on Fall 23 sports.
FALL SPORTS 22-23 LEVEL COACHES & ID E-MAIL
Cross Country - Boys V - Head Chris Marino cmarino@necsd.net
Cross County - Boys V - Asst. Ashley Wellington awellington@nescsd.net 
Cross Country - Girls V - Head Kathi Workman kworkman@necsd.net
Cross Country - Girls V - Asst. Rachel Gamma rachel.gamma@necsd.net
Cheerleading V - Head Kristen Romanino kromanino@necsd.net 
Cheerleading V - Asst. Lauren Skinner lskinner@necsd.net 
Cheerleading JV - Head Kristen Rummel krummel@necsd.net 
Football V - Head Bill Bianco wbianco@necsd.net 
Football V - Asst. Andy Toback antoback@necsd.net 
Football V - Asst. Mike Robinson mrobinson@necsd.net 
Football V - Asst. Ben Lazarski blazarski@necsd.net
Football V - Asst. James Horton, Jr. jhorton@necsd.net 
Football JV - Head Josh Conn jconn@necsd.net 
Football JV - Asst. Matt Geyer mattgeyer52@gmail.com 
Football JV - Asst. Brian Vegilando brianvegliando@wallkillcsd.k12.ny.us
Football FR - Head Paul Pacione pgpm4@aol.com 
Football FR - Asst. Anthony Mann themann67@optonline.net 
Football FR - Asst. Tyree Smallwood tsmallwood2120@gmail.com 
Soccer - Boys V - Head Matt Iorlano miorlano@necsd.net
Soccer - Boys V - Asst. Mike Pellegrinelli mpellegrinelli@necsd.net
Soccer - Boys JV - Head Josh Lubrano jlubrano@necsd.net 
Soccer - Girls V - Head Dave Doulin ddoulin@necsd.net
Soccer - Girls V - Asst. Jennifer Grogan jgrogan@necsd.net
Soccer - Girls JV - Head Mark Wenzel mwenzel@necsd.net
Swimming - Girls V - Head Zach Williams zwilliams@necsd.net 
Swimming - Girls V - Asst. Lauren Lubarsky llubarsky@necssd.net 
Tennis - Girls V - Head Keith Schafer kschafer@necsd.net 
Tennis - Girls JV - Head Art Santana asantana@necsd.net 
Volleyball V - Head Katie-Lee Mineo kmineo@necsd.net
Volleyball V - Asst. Edwin Quezada
Volleyball JV - Head Stephanie Spellman sspellman@necsd.net 
FALL MODIFIED SPORTS LEVEL COACHES & ID E-MAIL
Cross Country - Boys & Girls MOD - Head Aribelys Taveras ataveras@necsd.net 
Football MOD - Head Matt Decker mdecker@necsd.net 
Football MOD - Asst. Matt Abate mabate@necsd.net 
Football MOD - Asst. Jonathan Sakadelis
Soccer - Boys BLUE MOD - Head Dylan Burns dburns@necsd.net 
Soccer - Boys BLUE MOD - Head Daniel Lubrano dlubrano@necsd.net 
Soccer - Girls BLUE MOD - Head Kimberly Burke kburke@necsd.net 
Soccer - Girls BLUE MOD - Head Jessica Gonzalez jgonzalez@necsd.net 
Volleyball MOD - Head Bianca Bollen bbollen@necsd.net 

 

Spring Sport Information

Available Soon

Livestream information:

GBTV Livestream: 

The award winning GBTV (Goldback Television) will be live-streaming the following sporting events on YouTube:


Find their channel on YouTube to view these events: http://youtube.com/c/goldbacktelevision

Thank you to our students, teacher Mr. Guy Du Quesnay, and Athletic Director Mr. Howie Harrison for coordinating these efforts to allow our families to view and support our athletes from home!

NFHS:

Additionally, any events held in the NFA Main Gymnasium or on Academy Field can be viewed on the NFHS Network.

  

Welcome to the Newburgh Goldbacks Athletic Department webpage. On this page you will find athletic schedules, latest news, forms, the athletic handbook, and more. Take time to explore our site and if you have any questions or would like to see anything else added to this page, please feel free to contact the webmaster.  

 

 

 

 

SCHEDULE INFORMATION

Keep up on our Goldback games! Download the live schedule App. (Details and instructions below). This schedule app is updated daily to give you the most accurate GOLDBACK schedules, dates, times, and locations. Please check the schedule daily for updates.

Download the RSchool mobile app in the Google Play store or in the Apple App Store

After you download the app, check out this quick start guide to get started! Click here

 

STREAMING INFORMATION

Watch NFA Athletic events live through the NFHS Network. Create an account and watch all of your favorite athletes for free!

  

ATHLETICS FACEBOOK PAGE

Visit the Athletics Facebook Page for the latest news and happenings at https://www.facebook.com/NewburghGoldbacks/  

 

Contact Athletics

Howard Harrison, Athletics Director

Email: hharrison@necsd.net 
Phone:
(845) 563-5420
Fax: (845) 563-5463

Sport Photos


Athletic Schedule



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



QUICK CONTACT

Main Switchboard
845.563.3400
Food Services
845.563.3424
Registration
845.563.5437
BOE Clerk
845.563.3503
Transportation
845.568.6833
Payroll
845.563.3440
Athletics
845.563.5420
Business/Fin.
845.563.3448
Human Resources
845.563.3460
Technology
845.568.6542
Tax Office
845.563.3490
Newburgh Free Library
845.563.3600

SCHOOLS

Balmville
845.563.8550
Fostertown
845.568.6425
Gardnertown
845.568.6400
GAMS Tech
845.563.8450
Horizons
845.563.3725
Meadow Hill
845.568.6600
New Windsor
845.563.3700
Temple Hill
845.568.6450
Vails Gate
845.563.7900
Heritage Middle
845.563.3750
South Middle
845.563.7000
NFA Main
845.563.5400
NFA North
845.563.8400
NFA West
845.568.6560